Ogu Slams CAF’s Africa Best X1

Published on: 09 January 2019

Hapoel Beer Sheva midfield star, John Ogu, has slammed the Confederation of African Football, CAF, for leaving out two of his national teammates, Wilfred Ndidi and William Troost-Ekong from Africa’s Best X1 squad for 2018.

The CAF Best X1 for 2018 list was made known at the CAF gala awards ceremony in Dakar, Senegal on Tuesday with no Nigerian player making the shorlist – a decision which left Ogu bemused.

Ogu also questioned the inclusion of Juventus back Mehdi Benatia and Tottenham Hotspur’s right back Serge Aurier who were included in the line listed by CAF

He also believes of Naby Keita and Thomas didn’t fair better than Ndidi in 2018

“Let’s put sentiment aside, I can argue this anywhere that @WTroostEkong, even @ighalojude all should be there. Award is based on your performance for club and country and not how big of a club you play in. Ndidi plays for arguably the best league in the worldOgu stated via his official Twitter handle.

“My brothers @Ndidi25 , @WTroostEkong. We are proud of you two. I see you guys everyday in the National team and I see how dedicated and motivated you both are. I’m super proud of you two. Never stop working . You guys are destined for the top.”

“Ekong, Ndidi had a better season for their clubs,Made it to the World Cup. Had a decent performance at the World Cup and you say clubs they play in?Aurier , Bailly,Keita all didn’t make it.” “ Sorry to say this but @Ndidi25 should be here . My own opinion. Guys in that position didn’t do more than him.”

“[Mehdi] Benatia, [Serge] Aurier are not even regulars for their clubs.”

The Africa Best XI Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns/Uganda), Serge Aurier (Tottenham/Ivory Coast), Medhi Benatia (Juventus/Morocco), Eric Bailly (Manchester United/Ivory Coast), Kalidou Koulibaly (Napoli/Senegal).

Others are Naby Keita (Liverpool/Guinea), Thomas (Atletico Madrid/Ghana), Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City/Algeria); Mohamed Salah (Liverpool/Egypt), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Arsenal/Gabon) and Sadio Mane (Liverpool/Senegal).

Recall that Egypt and Liverpool star Mohamed Salah has been named the 2018 Aiteo African Player of the Year for a second successive time. He beat his Liverpool team-mate Sadio Mane of Senegal and Arsenal and Gabon striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang to the award.