EPL start : UK Embassy in Nigeria celebrates Shoretire, Chukwuemekas, Saka, Super Eagles stars

Published on: 06 August 2022

The new English Premier League season kicked off on Friday evening with Arsenal registering a 2-0 win over Crystal Palace at Selhurst Park.

Three Anglo-Nigerian players were on parade namely Bukayo Saka for Arsenal, Malcolm Ebiowei and Eberechi Eze for Crystal Palace.

To celebrate the start of the 2022-2023 Premier League, the United Kingdom Embassy in Nigeria, via its official Twitter account, invited fans to celebrate the current crop of Nigerian and Anglo-Nigerian players eligible to feature in the 'greatest league in the world', and wished the players best of luck for the season ahead.

The UK Embassy in Nigeria listed twenty-two players including six Super Eagles stars Taiwo Awoniyi (Nottingham Forest), Joe Aribo (Southampton), Kelechi Iheanacho, Wilfred Ndidi (both Leicester City), Alex Iwobi (Everton) and Frank Onyeka (Brentford).

Other players who made the list are Carney Chukwuemeka (Chelsea), Victor Akinwale, Ebiowei, Eze, David Omilabu and Ademola Ola-Adebomi (Crystal Palace), Saka, Zach Awe (Arsenal), Dele Alli (Everton), Caleb Chukwuemeka, Tim Iroegbunam (Aston Villa), Sam Edozie (Manchester City), Odel Offiah (Brighton & Hove), Josh Onomah (Fulham), Shola Shoretire (Manchester United) and Dominic Solanke (Bournemouth).

The Chukwuemeka brothers, Akinwale, Omilabu, Ola-Adebomi, Awe, Iroegbunam, Edozie, Offiah and Shoretire are eligible to be registered on their clubs' Premier League rosters as U21 players.

Of the aforementioned players, only Alli and Saka are cap-tied to the English Football Association.