Babangida Heads New Pillars Board

Published on: 21 October 2016

The Kano State government on Thursday reconstituted the Kano Pillars board.

Governor Abdullahi Ganduje had on Wednesday announced the dissolution of the Kabiru Baita-led board while hosting   Kano Pillars Basketball Club players and officials in his office.

The sacked board had come under fire following the team’s seventh-place finish in the Nigerian topflight, despite the state government’s investment in the team, who won the league in 2008, 2011, 2013 and 2014.

However, the state government has named a seven-man  the board of the Premier League outfit with former Kano State Football Association Secretary  Muhammad Babangida as Chairman.

A  statement by the Director-General, Media and Communications in the Governor’s Office, Salihu  Yakasai, named Prof. Musa Yakasai, Faruk Haladu, Tijjani Minjibir,  Sani Lawan,  Murtala  Zainawa and Yahaya Idris as members of the new board.

Ganduje appealed to the new  board to ensure that the objectives of his  administration, particularly restoring the glory of the club was achieved.

The  statement directed  the members of the old board    to return government property in their care.

Meanwhile, the management, coaches and the supporters’ club of Heartland have been sent packing.

A statement by the supervisor of the club and Deputy Speaker of the Imo State House of Assembly Ugonna Ozuruigbo said  Chibuzo Etuemena had  been appointed the new General Manager of the Owerri club, who were relegated from the Premier League last season.

Oscar Keke returns as Chief Operating Officer.

credit: punchng