Rivers Utd To Face Club Africain And FUS In Caf Confederation Cup

Published on: 26 April 2017


Nigerian club, Rivers United will face Moroccan club, Fath Union Sport de Rabat (FUS Rabat) in the group stage of the 2017 Caf Confederation Cup.

Rabat were winners of the Caf Champions League in 2010 and were also runners-up in the Caf Super Cup in 2011.

Rivers United will also face 2011 Caf Confederation Cup runners up, Club Africain of Tunisia while Ugandan club, KCAA completes the line up in Group A.

Rivers United originally qualified to represent Nigeria in the 2017 Caf Champions League but after despatching Malian club, AS Real Bamako in the preliminary round, they came unstuck against Sudanese club, Al-Merreikh in the first round.

The ‘Pride of Rivers’ then dropped to Africa’s second-tier club competition, the Caf Confederation Cup alongside all losers at the first round stage of the Caf Champions League.

A 2-0 aggregate success over Rwandan club, Rayon Sports in the playoff round of the Caf Confederation meant United booked a ticket for the playoff round of the competition.

No Nigerian club has ever won the Caf Confederation Cup title and United will be looking to buck that trend.

Reacting to the draw on Wednesday, the Rivers United technical manager, Stanley Eguma expressed confidence in his side’s ability to progress to the last eight of the competition.

“I must say it is a very tough group with two North African clubs from Morocco and Tunisia but we are confident of qualifying for the quarterfinals.

“We must also not overlook or underrate (Ugandan club), KCAA who have also earned a right to be here.

“Now, we must work hard, study our opponents and try to do Nigeria proud,” he told supersport.com shortly after the draw.

Caf Confederation Cup draw

Group A

FUS Rabat (Morocco)

Club Africain (Tunisia)

Rivers United (Nigeria)

KCAA (Uganda)

Group B

CS Sfaxien (Tunisia)

Platinum Stars (South Africa)

MC Alger (Algeria)

Mbabane Swallows (Swaziland)

Group C

Zesco United (Zambia)

Recreativo do Libolo (Angola)

Al-Hilal Al-Ubayyid (Sudan)

Smouha (Egypt)

Group D

TP Mazembe (Congo DR)

SuperSport United (South Africa)

Horoya AC (Guinea)

CF Mounana (Gabon)