AFCON17: Yahaya Lawali named in team of the group stage

Published on: 13 May 2023

Nigeria U-17 player, Yahaya Lawali has been named in the 2023 African Cup of Nations team of the group stageby the tournament's Technical Study Group (TSG),

Lawali whose great performance saw Nigeria qualify to the quarter final round with six points, won two Man of the Match gongs in the group stage.

The Golden Eaglets vice captain was named alongside players from Mali, Senegal, Morocco, Congo and Burkina Faso.

In the list, Mali's goalkeeper, B. Kone, was named as well as S.F Diouf (Senegal), A. Hamid Eid (Morocco), L. Traore (Burkina Faso).

Others are A. Martial (Mali), A. Chakir (Morocco), T. Tsimba (Congo), S. Alio (Burkina Faso), A. Diouf (Senegal), and M. Doumbia (Mali).

Lawali and his Golden Eaglets teammates were knocked out from the competition by Burkina Faso after losing by two goals to one in the quarter final round on Friday.


By Uche Dozie